Daily Reflection

by Shawnong

“Writing is crystallised thought”

I started this blog for several reasons:

  1. I wanted to document my life to reflect back on afterwards
  2. I wanted to rant
  3. I wanted to improve my writing skills

Over the course of 1-2 years(?), one of the subtle but main benefits of writing I came to realise was its ability to improve my thought process. What writing has done for me is to force arbitrary and messy thoughts into a clean, organised structure. Hence, “Writing is crystallised thought”. This is actually a quote from Tim Ferriss and he is one of my intellectual heroes.

I found his videos recently and he has an incredibly sharp mind. He delivers content concisely without superfluous language. I think that’s something I have to work on. But really I came upon his content because I was searching for ways to improve my thought process/critical thinking. I have been experiencing a decline in my ability to articulate my thoughts or think through certain scenarios. It’s as if I’m hitting roadblocks every where I turn and my thoughts feel fuzzy.

I have come to the conclusion that it is because I have stopped writing. It really is a round-trip, I guess. I urge myself to write regularly again.

I think that the written form is definitely superior to speech. Speech is a very haphazard articulation of thoughts that often leaves the speaker feeling emptier and more disconnected to the topic than from the start. It is to me a fun and casual way to communicate but is inferior to written text.

The written text is generally cleaved from emotion, and this allows the reader to take in the information in a more analytical way.

