If I Had One Superpower

by Shawnong

I would want to be able to communicate with the dead.

To draw their unspoken words from their dusty tongues; the words which had rolled about in the back of their throats but failed to leave the edge of their lips.

Words which had been full of colour and vibrancy, formed in the crevices of their minds but were deprived of the opportunity of life; which were not breathed into reality.

To hear their silent thoughts with my soul; to have a conversation without the exchange of words, the use of words. Because what else communicates more effectively than the language of understanding?

To feel their emotions with my fingers and caress their weightless souls.

To listen to their thumping feelings with my ears before their bodies turned cold.

 

In loving memory of the wonderful Robin Williams

