Weekly Writing Challenge: Chinese New Year

by Shawnong

It’s all about the goodies and the God-sent sugar-coated candies. A real treat to the tongue and its taste buds! Just imagine the tantalising crystals of sugar melt in your mouth. It’s simply honey for the soul!

*

I’m only here for the Ang Paos… Yup, only for the money. I have negative interest in seeing strange uncles and aunties whose faces I register only once a year. And that cousin over there? I don’t even know his name or how old he is! This is all too absurd. Why do those kids even have an iPhone? Oh gosh, they are taking a selfie…

*

Too much palaver and superficial conversations going on. It’s real tiring to fake a smile. All these tradition nonsense is getting out of hand. The copious rituals are a disgrace to modern culture and reflects terribly on the intellect of evolved mankind. I just wish all of these will pass soon and I can get back to what concerns me. The atmosphere is cacophonous and, oops! Here comes another relative. Time for a smile to veil my boredom.

*

Look at all these kids frolicking in the festive spirit! I still remember the days when I used to be a kid; free from the troubles of the adult world and taking delight in the simple pleasures. What’s that vibrating in my pocket? Oh right my blackberry! Darn the emails, there is an urgent proposal to be done by Monday. Snap! I forgot to pay the bills too!

*

There is much virtue in the traditions of our culture. Chinese New Year is a time of reunion for family no matter how busy or where they are. It’s a time of gathering to remember our roots and to cherish our loved ones. It’s about making time for each other and understanding that everything else here material and fades with the passing of time. While the bonds forged are as strong as the will of our forefathers who toiled and suffered for our freedom today. We must cherish our relationships, for these imperturbable ties are what brings us back together every year. I hope this tradition passes onto our next generation, and hopefully withstands the erosion of time.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/writing-challenge-shoes/

