Lucid Ambivalence

by Shawnong

Lost… In a never ending expanse of sand. The landscape doesn’t change as my far as my vision carries my sight. Heat, the sun beats me down to my knees mercilessly, scorching my dehydrated skin. My throat, hoarse like the coarseness of the material beneath my feet. I succumb onto the bed of sand, allowing the coarse grains to engulf me in a chrysalis.The flinting light rays begged my eyelids to shut, sending me into a deep state of slumber…

I will my eyelids to expose my pupils. My irises dilate and constrict vehemently in the nonchalant change of brightness. My skull cracks under the feverish state of my mind. I am surrounded by a cacophony of of voices from the inhabitants of this forest, the voice of Earth. Shards of glass tear down my throat with each drop of saliva I swallow. I need water. I see a plump bright fruit hanging seductively from the highest echelons of the tree before me. Adrenaline surged through my veins purposefully, inching me towards the ascend of the mighty tree. I lay my palm on the unforgiving surface of the bark…

It burns. The pernicious cold sends me straight into writhing pain. I am crouched on fours. I see my soul sucked out from my lips with every breath I expel. My innards crystallise. I feel the fangs of ice sinking into my every organ. I crumble into complete cessation…

Waves lapse the soles of my feet, licking at my thirst tantalisingly. I’m in the middle of a vast ocean. I plunge into the body of life-sustaining liquid and drown myself as my spirit is lifted. I fall deeper towards the core uncontrollably. The weight crushes me from the outside and my system is inundated with water. A state of void darkness.

I am alive.

I SHOULD BE DOING MY PHYSICS PAPERSSS DAMN IT

 

